Planning and Zoning Commission


The powers and duties of the Williams County Planning and Zoning Commission are set forth in North Dakota Century Code Chapter 11-33 and in the Williams County Zoning Ordinance & Subdivision Regulations, and include the power and duty to hold public hearings and make recommendations to the board of county commissioners on zoning requests; recommend amendments to the zoning regulations; and recommend the boundaries of county zoning districts and appropriate regulations and restrictions to be established in the zoning districts.


Qualifications: Two members must be appointed from the Williston City Commission and at most two members may be appointed from the Williams County Board of County Commissioners. The remaining members shall be appointed from the County at large. At least one at-large member of the County Planning and Zoning Commission must be appointed from each district.
Compensation: $100 per meeting + actual expenses
Created by: N.D.C.C. § 11-33-04
Members: 9
Length of Terms: 4 years


Member Name

Member Type

Term Length

Term Ends

Tate Cymbaluk Williston City Commission Coterminous*  N/A
James Bervig Williston City Commission Coterminous*  N/A
Barry Ramberg Williams County Commission Coterminous*  N/A
Charell Schillo District 1 4 Years 8/31/2027
Dan Kalil District 2 4 Years 7/31/2024
Shane Cymbaluk District 3 4 Years 9/30/2024
Mark Barstad District 4 4 years 4/30/2028
Eric Gilbert District 5 4 Years 4/30/2028
George Pederson Member at Large 4 Years 4/30/2028

Recent Agendas

Point of Contact

Kameron Hymer, Development Services Director

P.O. Box 2047
Williston, ND 58802-2047

(701) 577-4567

Close window