FAQ Topic: Public Safety

How can I request a crash report?

Beginning August 1, 2021, the William’s County Sheriff’s Office will no longer be releasing accident reports due to new state legislation; they must be requested via the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT). The form must be downloaded from the NDDOT and returned to them with payment; please follow the instructions outlined on the form. … Continued

How is the Fire Danger Rating determined?

The North Dakota Fire Danger Rating is a broad scale assessment that is issued each morning at approximately 6:45 CST during fire season by the U.S. Forest Service (USFS). The fire season is typically from April 1st to October 31st. The USFS calculates the Fire Danger Rating using grassland fuel moisture, forecast temperature, humidity, wind … Continued

Can I use my grill or fire table when the burn ban is in effect?

Device controlled fires, such as those from a grill, fire table, or gas camp stove, are not addressed under the burn ban, but the operator should always practice proper fire prevention. They should be located on a hard, non-organic surface at least 15 feet away from vegetation and a fire extinguisher or water should be … Continued

Can I have a campfire when the burn ban is in effect?

Campfires, even if they are in a fire ring, are *not* permitted when the Williams County Burn Ban is in effect. For more information about the Burn Ban, please visit the Burning in Williams County webpage. There may be additional localized restrictions, so it is always best to contact your local fire district for more … Continued

When is the burn ban in effect?

A Fire Emergency and Automatic Burn Ban is in effect from April 5, 2022, through December 1, 2022, whenever the ND Fire Danger Index is in the VERY HIGH, or EXTREME status and/or a Red Flag Warning has been issued for Williams County. Check the Burning in Williams County webpage for the Fire Danger Rating … Continued

How can I submit an anonymous tip about a crime?

The Williams County Sheriff’s Office is a participating agency in NDTip, a service that enables citizens to submit anonymous tips about crimes, suspicious activity, or non-emergency traffic concerns. Citizens can submit tips for activity anywhere within the County. Tips will be forwarded to the appropriate law enforcement agency if they are for locations outside of … Continued

Where can I get my fingerprints taken?

Fingerprinting is available every Wednesday evening from 7 pm to 9 pm at the Williams County Law Enforcement Center. Hours are subject to change depending on the volume of people that show. A fee of $20 is charged per person; cash only.

How do I post bond?

To post bond for someone being held in the Williams County Correctional Center, you must post bond with the court that made the charges (e.g. Northwest District Judicial Court or Municipal Court). NW District Judicial Court If the individual is being held on charges from the NW District Judicial Court, and you wish to pay … Continued

Close window